The Town Mayor is elected annually in May by the Town Council. The Mayor serves as the Chair of the Town Council and presides over meetings of the council. The Mayor also acts a figurehead for the Council in the community, attending engagements, officiating at events, presenting prizes or certificates and acting in an apolitical way on behalf of the Council.


If you would like to invite the Town Mayor to your event then please contact:

Richard Fryer, Democratic Services Officer, on 0118 9986 8995 or

Alternatively, you can post your request to: Democratic Services Officer, Earley Town Council, Radstock Lane, Earley, RG6 5UL.


When thinking about what information you need to include with your invitation, be sure to enclose the essential details: the nature of the event; what the event is; the date and time; the venue address; the Mayor’s involvement. 




Councillor Anne Bassett was elected Mayor of Earley at the Annual Town Council meeting held on 4th May 2021.


Mayor Bassett


Councillor Tahir Maher was elected Deputy Mayor of Earley at the Annual Town Council meeting held on 4th May 2021.



Previous Earley Town Council Chairmen & Mayors

Period of Office Title Forename Surname Position
1974-1976 Mr R.E Boulton Chairman
1976-1981 Mr A.C Paddick Chairman
1981-1983 Mr A.W Spratling Chairman
1983-1987 Mr J Busby Chairman
1987-1988 Mr A.W Spratling Chairman
1988-1989 Mrs V.J. Santon Chairman
1989-1990 Mr D.J Fruin Chairman
1990-1991 Mr P Devonald Chairman
1991-1992 Mr A.W Spratling Chairman
1992-1994 Mrs F.M Rolls Chairman
1994-1996 Mrs E Spratling Chairman
1996-1998 Mr M Richman Chairman
1998-1999 Mrs E Spratling Chairman
1999-2001 Mr A.D Long Chairman
2001-2003 Mrs I Dowdall Chairman
2003-2004 Mrs J Shockley Chairman
2004-2006 Mr D.D Chopping Chairman
2006-2007 Mr David Chopping Mayor
2007-2008 Mr Norman Jorgensen Mayor
2008-2009 Mr Andrew Bradley Mayor
2009-2010 Mr John Armstrong Mayor
2010-2011 Mr Peter Willis Mayor
2011-2012 Mr Tim Chambers Mayor
2012-2013 Mrs Pauline Jorgensen Mayor
2013-2015 Mrs Linda Chambers Mayor
2015-2016 Mrs Melanie De Jong Mayor
2016-2017 Miss Jackie  Rance Mayor
2017-2018 Mr Michael Firmager Mayor
2018-2019 Mr Brian Wedge Mayor
2019-2021 Mr David Hare Mayor